Regrets, I’ve had a few …

09Jul10

So here I am in my declining years, looking back on my life so far, getting nostalgic and so on.

Thinking about the things that life has taught me.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with what they say, that nostalgia isn’t what it used to be.

And for some reason I have a line from that song “I did it my way” (God, what a stupid song!) running through my head.

“Regrets, I’ve had a few …”

In particular, I’m thinking about my dear old mother who used to warn me, to tell me to beware of all the wild women who would lead me astray.

That must be one of my greatest regrets.

That those wild women my mother used to talk about, they never showed up!

3 Responses to “Regrets, I’ve had a few …”

  1. Apropos “wild women” …

    When I posted this at The Mudflats Forum, someone replied, “Perhaps they are waiting for the cigareets and whusky?”

    Now, I was familiar with a humorous Danish song “Cigaretter, whisky og n√łgne piger” (Cigarettes, whisky and naked girls), but surely there couldn’t be a connection – or could there?

    A bit of Googling later I came up with these YouTube vidoes:

    Peter Sellers on The Muppet Show, with “Cigarettes and Whiskey” (1977):

    “Cigareets, Whuskey & Wild Women” the drunken version by ‘Big Three Trio’ (approx. 1950?):

    And yes, the Danish song, which I had always assumed was an original Danish composition, is a translation / rewrite of this song!

    Finally, to round out this musical apropos about wild women, here’s Natalie Cole with “Wild Women Do”:

  2. 2 boodog

    Oh thanks for digging up those videos, I loved Peter Sellers and miss his humor! I think your ‘Regrets” post hits a nerve in all of us, at some point in our lives. Thanks.

  3. 3 Sirenoftitan

    Gosh, that brought some memories back! Thanks for posting them, Rennie


Leave a Reply

